Student Seminars

Student Seminar Series

Join us this Fall for a series of seminars organized by the graduate students of the Statistics Department at UC Davis. The seminars will be held on Tuesdays at 2:00pm, in the Colloquium Room (MSB 1147).




Tue Oct 17, 4:00pm

Hyeyeong Choe

(Post-Doc, Environ Sci and Policy, UC Davis)

"How statistics are used in ecological models and conservation planning" - ABSTRACT

Tue Oct 31, 4:00pm

Jilei Yang

(PhD Student, Statistics, UC Davis)

"Gaining interpretation for black-box predictive models" - ABSTRACT

Tue Dec 5, 4:00pm

Michelle Norris

(Professor, Sacramento State University)


Tue Jan 23, 2:00pm

Cody Carroll

(PhD Student, Statistics, UC Davis)

"Warping for Multivariate Functional Data with Application to Longitudinal Growth Curves - ABSTRACT

Tue Feb 6, 2:00pm

Franco Liang

(PhD Student, Statistics, UC Davis)

"Block-based Partitioning for Extreme Multi-label Classification" - ABSTRACT
Tue Feb 13, 2:00pm

Robert Bassett

(PhD Student, Mathematics, UC Davis)

Trendi-Splines: Density Estimation with Total Variation Penalized Maximum Likelihood Estimation - ABSTRACT
Tue Feb 27, 2:00pm

Kirill Paramonov

(PhD Student, Mathematics, UC Davis)

Lift Estimator of Graphlet Count Statistic - ABSTRACT

Refreshments will be served at each seminar. Seminars will be approximately 40 minutes long.

Organizers (Fall): Irene Kim, Ozan Sonmez and Clark Fitzgerald

Organizers (Winter): Andrew Blandino, Dmitriy Izyumin, and Benjamin Roycraft

*  *  *  *  *

Here are the previous student-run seminars in 2016-17:




Wed Oct 5,


Data Mining Team

(PhD Candidates, Statistics, UC Davis)

“Predicting Return Quantity for a Fashion Distributor via Gradient Boosting and Ensemble Learning” - ABSTRACT

Wed Oct 19,


Rex Cheung

(PhD Candidate, Statistics, UC Davis)

“Detecting and Predicting Driving State with Driver Behavior Data” - ABSTRACT

Wed Nov 2,


Justin Wang

(PhD Candidate, Statistics, UC Davis)

"Techniques for nonlinear Dimension Reduction" - ABSTRACT

Wed Nov 16,


Norm Matloff

(Professor, Computer Science, UC Davis)

"Statistical Issue in Recommender Systems" - ABSTRACT

Wed Nov 30,


Ozan Sonmez

(PhD Candidate, Statistics, UC Davis)

“Detecting and dating structural breaks in functional data without dimension reduction” - ABSTRACT

Wed Feb 1,


Mimi Tsuruga

(Postdoc, Math, UC Davis)

“What is Topological Data Analysis?” - ABSTRACT

Wed Feb 15, 12:00pm

Julio Deride

(PhD student, Math, UC Davis)

“Statistical estimation problems under stochastic optimization perspective” - ABSTRACT

Wed Mar 1,


Benjamin Roycraft

(PhD student, Statistics, UC Davis)

“A Statistical Approach using Bootstrap Estimation” - ABSTRACT

Wed Mar 15, 12:00pm                     Hao Chen (Assistant Professor, Statistics, UC Davis)                                              “Change-point detection for locally dependent data” - ABSTRACT




Wed April 12, 11:10am

Miles Lopes

(Assistant Professor, Statistics, UC Davis)

“On the computation-accuracy tradeoff for majority-voting ensembles” - ABSTRACT

Wed April 19, 11:10am

Matt Dowle

(Data Scientist, Hacker at H20.ia, author of data.table in R)

"Ask Me Anything" - ABSTRACT

Wed April 26, 11:10am

Jonathan Helm

(Post-Doc, Psychology, UC Davis)

“Bayesian versus Maximum Likelihood Estimation of Multitrait-Multimethod Confirmatory Factor Models” - ABSTRACT

Wed May 3, 11:10am

Matthew Espe

(Post-Doc, Data Science Initiative / Plant Sciences, UC Davis)

“Bayesian modeling using Stan” - ABSTRACT

Wed May 10, 11:10am

Clark Fitzgerald

(PhD Student, Statistics, UC Davis)
“Parallel Computing Through Code Analysis” - ABSTRACT
Wed May 17, 11:10am

Sean Maceachern

(Data Scientist, Monsanto)
“Applied statistics and data science in Agriculture” - ABSTRACT
Wed May 24, 11:10am

Irene Kim

(PhD Student, Statistics, UC Davis)
“Homology of simplicial complexes and convergence of Persistence Diagram as weighted point process” - ABSTRACT